- Posts tagged hope for holly
- Explore hope for holly on posterous
Sometimes You Have To Destroy The Village
Currently, I have 4 or 5 sites that I have hosted at GoDaddy that run Wordpress. This one, Hope For Holly (hosted at Media Temple – which seems to be working fine), Building Castles and a couple of others that I’ve started, but haven’t done much with. I’m a business guy, not a PHP Programmer. Each time I launch a site I have the regular frustration with versioning, design, picking plug-ins, etc. Frankly, I’m done with it.
This past weekend, I noticed that my site wasn’t sending trackbacks and ping backs. I have no idea why. It seems to coincide with my upgrade to 2.3.3, but I really can’t tell. I spent about 6 aggravating hours trying to figure out why to no avail, so I’m scrapping the idea of hosting it myself. I’m tired of managing upgrades only to have to upgrade again 5 days later, I’m tired of having to keep plug-ins current for fear of security holes, I’m tired of futzing with CSS and PHP to try to get the site to look exactly the way that I want only to have it not do exactly what I want. To make matters worse, when I tried to do the export from GoDaddy, I found that SpamKarma had left 88MB of spam in my SQL database. So I needed to figure out how to delete that. Again, not a programmer, I just want to write.
I originally decided to run on WP because I wanted to learn basic PHP and SQL stuff. Now that I know that, I’m done. I’ve moved to the hosted Wordpress.com site and I’ll see how things go. I don’t love the look of the site, but I love the idea of it being much easier to use and manage. I’d much rather spend time writing blog posts than messing with PHP pages, stylesheets and upgrades. I don’t know what this will do to my RSS feed, which I’ll be porting over (via Feedburner) in the next day or so. I suspect that to will break. Please come back and update your link.
Site Hacked - Can Anyone Tell If This is Real?
This seems far too fake for me (ASS), but my site was in fact hacked. I've since updated WP, but can't tell if this is altruistic or if it is a tease. Any idea???
As precautionary, the site has been cleaned up, WP has been updated and all passwords have been reset with new, more complex passwords.Regarding hopeforholly.com, This email is not an April's fools email and it has been sent to notify you that your blog's version is old and needs to be updated ASAP as it was hacked. While tracking some Viagra spammers I have come accross several links coming from your blog and, after testing it, it appears your blog is 2.1.* generation hence vulnerable to SQL injection blind-fishing attacks. Search Google to learn more. In a few words: spammers can take full control of your blog in a matter of minutes and deface it at will. These attacks are as serious as they can get as the spammers have full access to your blog and add hidden HTML elements to mask their links. You MUST update your blog to the latest official WordPress version and manually clean your last 5-10 posts of the parasite links which you will only see in HTML view. Not doing so may attract severe search engine penalties as you are currently linking to sites with VERY bad reputation. Hoping you will take required action, A.S.S. (Anonymous Security Specialist) PS: I got your email address from your Dashboard / Users Management Section. I have warned many during the past months regarding the vulnerable blogs, being a blogger myself, but it seems I haven't warned everyone. Lateste WordPress is secure.

